[Info] Profile Help/Tips - NO ads

By Retired breeder, 28th February 2010 01:21:55
129
Please post any profile questions or tips you may have here.

This is a Help topic only.

This is *NOT* for advertising services. If ads are placed in this topic, then you will be sanctioned.

Edit by horselover1981:
If you are getting the following error message try saving your presentation again, on the same page the error comes up on, sometimes it fixes itself. If that doesn't work then you need to copy and paste your profile to a word document, delete your page, add your content back a pieace at a time, saving after each piece.

Error message:
"You can't continue...
The profile page presentation you wrote cannot be published because the HTML tags are incorrect."
 
Go to page:
Hi, I would like to change the background colour of my profile page. How do I do that?
ShadowKokufu
  • Posted messages: 442
  • Karma: 10 points
could somebody give me a short breakdown on what css/html we can't and can use nowdays? and why did they change it? I left the game in 2015 (my old account has been deleted long ago ofc) and none of my old presentations are working, despite looking just fine outside of howrse. Now we got no fancy cursors, no hiding scrollbars... I've heard there's been an update but can't find what exactly did they change besides the few stuff I just tested.
Ghostmuffin
  • Posted messages: 15
  • Karma: 10 points
Heyyyo I need some help, so this is what my html looks like

Click to display
<div style="background:url(&quot;https://img.sunset02.com/sunsetm/wp-content-uploads/2019-03-28UTC09/fall-wildflowers-lupine-getty-166258781-0718-900x500.jpg&quotdefault smiley ;);width:900px;height:500px;">

<div style="text-align:center;width:500px;height:300px;font-size:50px;overflow:auto;float:left;margin-left:200px;margin-top:200px;"><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Times">

Welcome to The Flower Farm</font></div></div><table><tbody><tr><td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;"><br></div></td>
</tr><tr><td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:465px;margin-top:-304px;"><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Times"></font></div></td>
</tr><tr></tr></tbody></table>


And when I go to normal mode it looks great, but as soon as I start typing in the text boxes everything gets real weird, with text boxes jumping and stretching.

(Also they scroll horizontally and I want them to scroll vertically) if anyone could help out that would be great! Also obviously the smiley above is supposed to be : ) , but not space between.
MegaGoatBabe
  • Posted messages: 3
  • Karma: 10 points
Ghostmuffin wrote:

could somebody give me a short breakdown on what css/html we can't and can use nowdays? and why did they change it? I left the game in 2015 (my old account has been deleted long ago ofc) and none of my old presentations are working, despite looking just fine outside of howrse. Now we got no fancy cursors, no hiding scrollbars... I've heard there's been an update but can't find what exactly did they change besides the few stuff I just tested.

Hi, I'm an old player as well and I've recently had to figure out how in the heck I can use text-shadow without it disappearing on me... it used to work back in the days but now it doesn't default smiley :(

Anyway, I've been studying other layouts (I didn't straight up steal their coding of course) to try to get back into coding, and I found out earlier today that invisible scrollbars exist! I don't know anything about coding, like why something works that way or whatever, but I hope I can explain this enough.

Click to display
<div style="width:200px;height:150px;overflow:hidden;margin-top:0px;margin-left:0px;float:left;">
<div style="width:220px;height:150px;overflow:auto;float:left;">
<div style="width:200px;height:150px;float:left;(any font stuff here);">
Tempus eget dolor phasellus ut. Mus dictum tortor aenean turpis, ornare phasellus fames nulla vel. Metus sodales massa hendrerit sociosqu id augue. Vitae conubia malesuada turpis penatibus pellentesque quisque vitae dictumst laoreet ipsum semper. Rhoncus cras cras ornare maecenas, mus sagittis tempor. Donec dolor commodo eros nulla congue volutpat parturient. Pharetra consectetur id parturient consectetur mauris rhoncus senectus.

Diam; iaculis metus massa curae; quam! Sagittis tempus imperdiet feugiat venenatis platea donec varius tincidunt mollis congue. Eu quam taciti convallis turpis curabitur varius interdum per tortor facilisis. Odio tempus quisque bibendum fusce at cras aliquam vitae odio aptent ultricies quam. Placerat rutrum nec fames feugiat senectus fusce ipsum bibendum pellentesque elit. Suspendisse penatibus class dignissim varius sodales class volutpat id luctus sit proin ullamcorper. Odio lacus fusce purus nostra aenean conubia nibh mauris est imperdiet molestie.
</div></div></div>


Doing overflow:hidden hides the scrollbar; however, it can also disable the entire scroll functionality. Doing overflow:auto creates a scrollbar if the width/height of the box isn't big enough for all the text to fit in. When you have both, it'll still have the scrollbar... unless you make the width in the <div> section with overflow:auto larger than the actual box. I hope that made sense, lol.
ᴀɴɢᴇʟ ᴀᴄɪᴅ
  • Posted messages: 314
  • Karma: 10 points
MegaGoatBabe wrote:

Heyyyo I need some help, so this is what my html looks like

Click to display
<div style="background:url(&quot;https://img.sunset02.com/sunsetm/wp-content-uploads/2019-03-28UTC09/fall-wildflowers-lupine-getty-166258781-0718-900x500.jpg&quotdefault smiley ;);width:900px;height:500px;">

<div style="text-align:center;width:500px;height:300px;font-size:50px;overflow:auto;float:left;margin-left:200px;margin-top:200px;"><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Times">

Welcome to The Flower Farm</font></div></div><table><tbody><tr><td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;"></div></td>
</tr><tr><td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:465px;margin-top:-304px;"><font color="#FFFFFF" face="Times"></font></div></td>
</tr><tr></tr></tbody></table>


And when I go to normal mode it looks great, but as soon as I start typing in the text boxes everything gets real weird, with text boxes jumping and stretching.

(Also they scroll horizontally and I want them to scroll vertically) if anyone could help out that would be great! Also obviously the smiley above is supposed to be : ) , but not space between.


the problem was with the odd margin values in your table, that's what threw the text all over the place.
adding overflow-wrap:break-word; to each text box makes sure that you don't get horizontal scroll, now if a row would be too long it will just "break" like when you hit enter.
I also put in padding:10px; so that the text doesn't touch the edges of the boxes so closely, you can remove or change it to more/less px if you want, it won't mess anything up.

This code is working for me right now:

Click to display
<div style="background:url(https://img.sunset02.com/sunsetm/wp-content-uploads/2019-03-28UTC09/fall-wildflowers-lupine-getty-166258781-0718-900x500.jpg);width:900px;height:500px;">

<div style="text-align:center;width:500px;height:300px;font-size:50px;overflow:auto;float:left;margin-left:200px;margin-top:200px;">
<font face="Times" color="#FFFFFF">
Welcome to The Flower Farm</font></div>

<table>
<tbody><tr>
<td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:440px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;overflow-wrap:break-word;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;padding:10px">TEXT BOX 1 </div></td>
<td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;padding:10px;overflow-wrap:break-word;">TEXT BOX 2</div></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:440px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;padding:10px;overflow-wrap:break-word;">TEXT BOX 3<br></div></td>
<td><div style="background-color:#ecb4e6;text-align:center;width:435px;height:300px;font-size:12px;overflow-y:auto;float:left;margin-left:0px;margin-top:10px;padding:10px;overflow-wrap:break-word;">TEXT BOX 4<font face="Times" color="#FFFFFF"></font></div><br></td>
</tr>
</tbody></table></div>
Ghostmuffin
  • Posted messages: 15
  • Karma: 10 points
@angel acid (I can't quote multiple quotes aghhh) that makes sense, I didn't think of that! It's more bothersome than using css but better than nothing, I hate scroll bars lol. thechnically the bar is still there this way, but you can't see it because the smaller div crops it out, like if you looked through a big window with a smaller window right in front of it, you wouldn't be able to see the big window's frame.
You can do this with just 2 divs, no need for the 3rd one. make the 2nd div 20px bigger and your text will stay in view, but the 20px wide scroll bar won't.
Ghostmuffin
  • Posted messages: 15
  • Karma: 10 points
Ghostmuffin wrote:

@angel acid (I can't quote multiple quotes aghhh) that makes sense, I didn't think of that! It's more bothersome than using css but better than nothing, I hate scroll bars lol. thechnically the bar is still there this way, but you can't see it because the smaller div crops it out, like if you looked through a big window with a smaller window right in front of it, you wouldn't be able to see the big window's frame.
You can do this with just 2 divs, no need for the 3rd one. make the 2nd div 20px bigger and your text will stay in view, but the 20px wide scroll bar won't.

Oh okay, that makes sense! Kind of like using overflow to crop an image, yeah? Explanations like yours really helps, because anything that’s technical or scientific tend to go over my head haha.
ᴀɴɢᴇʟ ᴀᴄɪᴅ
  • Posted messages: 314
  • Karma: 10 points
could someone please help me put together a presentation?
brianna100
  • Posted messages: 2,893
  • Karma: 10 points
updating my question, how can i make a layout that has a picture on the background, and a single textbox over it that scrolls?
brianna100
  • Posted messages: 2,893
  • Karma: 10 points
brianna100 wrote:

updating my question, how can i make a layout that has a picture on the background, and a single textbox over it that scrolls?


To get a link of the picture you want to use: right click, select "copy image location" and paste it into the code below.

<div style="background:url(https://insert the link to the picture here);width:800px;">
<div style="overflow:auto;">This is where your text goes!</div>
</div>
Ghostmuffin
  • Posted messages: 15
  • Karma: 10 points
By Retired breeder, 8th March 2020 17:02:18
Hi,
I tried using the above code by Ghostmuffin,
It looks fine but when I save it the image disappears

The image I'm using is quite big so maybe that causes the problem?
Hey all, I'm attempting to change an image in a layout I'm using, but when I replace the original image's url with my image the sizing is all wrong. How can I fix this? A pm would be great, I don't usually check this forum default smiley :)
juniper.
  • Posted messages: 8,812
  • Karma: 10 points
Hi everyone, I have some problems with my layout, I created the base using GIMP, I saved everything, but I don't know how to put scrollbars to write and I don't know how to create html code.
Some advice?

The basis of the layout is this here, I made it for my profile on howrse.it

BeautyoftheOrient
  • Posted messages: 4
  • Karma: 10 points
Not sure what happened to the last message I posted but it didn't appear after posting and refreshing the page. So I'm posting again, sorry if it has posted. Feel free to delete this if necessary.

Hi all, I'm having trouble with the HTML for my layout. I'm new to this and created this from scratch and I'm new to this so I could have totally screwed this default smiley xd So whenever I paste the HTML into HTML mode and go into normal mode the text boxes are moved to a different place in the layout. In the program I'm using it looks perfect. I'm sure it has something the coding in regard to the position. If anyone could help me, let me know what I'm doing wrong. Howrse doesn't really make this easy default smiley xd I've posted the HTML code and the share link from the program I used in the spoiler tab below.

Click to display
~My HTML code~


~Link to the program here

<!DOCTYPE html>

<head>
<title>howrsepresentation</title>

<style>
body {
background-image: url(https://www.picturepaste.ca/images/2020/03/24/Presentation-Layout-1.gif);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
background-size: 100% 100%;
}
</style>

<style>

div.aboutmetextbox {
width: 230px;
height: 153px;
overflow: auto;
position: relative;
bottom: 67px;
left: 30px;

}
div.breddingtextbox {
width: 230px;
height: 153px;
overflow: auto;
position: relative;
top: 329px;
left: 30px;

}
</style>
</head>
<div class="breddingtextbox">!THIS IS YOUR BREEDING TEXT BOX! Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam rutrum libero at odio efficitur, sed consequat sapien convallis. Quisque quis ante eget leo mattis pretium eget et magna. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Proin viverra magna porttitor pellentesque rutrum. Sed id purus lectus. Integer mi mauris, egestas nec massa rhoncus, lobortis porttitor lacus. Quisque porttitor felis id arcu tempor, rhoncus fermentum mi venenatis. Phasellus ullamcorper ullamcorper laoreet. Etiam pulvinar ut diam a egestas</div>

<div class="aboutmetextbox">!THIS IS YOUR ABOUT ME TEXT BOX! Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam rutrum libero at odio efficitur, sed consequat sapien convallis. Quisque quis ante eget leo mattis pretium eget et magna. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Proin viverra magna porttitor pellentesque rutrum. Sed id purus lectus. Integer mi mauris, egestas nec massa rhoncus, lobortis porttitor lacus. Quisque porttitor felis id arcu tempor, rhoncus fermentum mi venenatis. Phasellus ullamcorper ullamcorper laoreet. Etiam pulvinar ut diam a egestas</div>
Tʜᴇ Aʀᴛғᴜʟ Doᴅɢᴇʀ
  • Posted messages: 176
  • Karma: 10 points
Tʜᴇ Aʀᴛғᴜʟ Doᴅɢᴇʀ wrote:

Not sure what happened to the last message I posted but it didn't appear after posting and refreshing the page. So I'm posting again, sorry if it has posted. Feel free to delete this if necessary.

Hi all, I'm having trouble with the HTML for my layout. I'm new to this and created this from scratch and I'm new to this so I could have totally screwed this default smiley xd So whenever I paste the HTML into HTML mode and go into normal mode the text boxes are moved to a different place in the layout. In the program I'm using it looks perfect. I'm sure it has something the coding in regard to the position. If anyone could help me, let me know what I'm doing wrong. Howrse doesn't really make this easy default smiley xd I've posted the HTML code and the share link from the program I used in the spoiler tab below.

Click to display
~My HTML code~


~Link to the program here

<!DOCTYPE html>

<head>
<title>howrsepresentation</title>

<style>
body {
background-image: url(https://www.picturepaste.ca/images/2020/03/24/Presentation-Layout-1.gif);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: fixed;
background-size: 100% 100%;
}
</style>

<style>

div.aboutmetextbox {
width: 230px;
height: 153px;
overflow: auto;
position: relative;
bottom: 67px;
left: 30px;

}
div.breddingtextbox {
width: 230px;
height: 153px;
overflow: auto;
position: relative;
top: 329px;
left: 30px;

}
</style>
</head>
<div class="breddingtextbox">!THIS IS YOUR BREEDING TEXT BOX! Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam rutrum libero at odio efficitur, sed consequat sapien convallis. Quisque quis ante eget leo mattis pretium eget et magna. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Proin viverra magna porttitor pellentesque rutrum. Sed id purus lectus. Integer mi mauris, egestas nec massa rhoncus, lobortis porttitor lacus. Quisque porttitor felis id arcu tempor, rhoncus fermentum mi venenatis. Phasellus ullamcorper ullamcorper laoreet. Etiam pulvinar ut diam a egestas</div>

<div class="aboutmetextbox">!THIS IS YOUR ABOUT ME TEXT BOX! Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam rutrum libero at odio efficitur, sed consequat sapien convallis. Quisque quis ante eget leo mattis pretium eget et magna. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Proin viverra magna porttitor pellentesque rutrum. Sed id purus lectus. Integer mi mauris, egestas nec massa rhoncus, lobortis porttitor lacus. Quisque porttitor felis id arcu tempor, rhoncus fermentum mi venenatis. Phasellus ullamcorper ullamcorper laoreet. Etiam pulvinar ut diam a egestas</div>


Your code is perfect! the problem is that howrse doesn't allow us to use many css tags.

You must use inline css, which means you can't just define div classes like that.
You can't adjust the background's size with css tags here, you have to actually go and resize the image itself and then upload it to an image hosting site.
You can't position your divs by writing in how many pixels from what side (we used to be able to do that a few years ago, not anymore...), you have to use a table and margins/padding.
There are many other things they don't let us use, I'm still discovering them myself lol
Ghostmuffin
  • Posted messages: 15
  • Karma: 10 points
Thanks howrse default smiley xd Thank you Ghostmuffin your help is greatly appreciated default smiley ^)default smiley (l)
Tʜᴇ Aʀᴛғᴜʟ Doᴅɢᴇʀ
  • Posted messages: 176
  • Karma: 10 points
Does anyone know how to code a HTML layout? If anyone does, please PM me - I can reward with BMIs if necessary.
Thanks
- canteringgallop432
canteringgallop432
  • Posted messages: 1,370
  • Karma: 10 points
Hi y'all,

I have my layout finished and it's basically functional. However, when I'm adding text and wish to add a new line using Enter like one normally would, it screws up the entire text box. I've resorted to using copious spaces but is there a way to fix this? I've included my code in the spoiler below.

Thanks much!

Click to display
<div align="center">
<div style="background: url(https://i.imgur.com/uyq9ZgE.jpg); width:930px; height:615px; border: 3px double #000000">

<div style="text-align:justify; color:#000000; font:12px century gothic; padding:10px; border: 1px #000000 solid; width:274px; height:210px; overflow: auto; margin-top:61px; margin-left: 10px; float: left; ">
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed ut rutrum mi. Proin quis nulla lacinia, suscipit velit at, euismod nulla. Ut cursus metus a dolor vestibulum, in viverra orci scelerisque. Vivamus sed congue lacus. Sed bibendum vitae ipsum ac facilisis. Mauris sit amet orci a arcu pretium consequat non vel ligula. Mauris augue velit, pulvinar nec libero eu, eleme
</div>

<div style="text-align:justify; color:#000000; font:12px century gothic; padding:10px; border: 1px #000000 solid; width:210px; height:198px; overflow: auto; margin-top:382px; margin-left: -294px; float: left; ">
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed ut rutrum mi. Proin quis nulla lacinia, suscipit velit at, euismod nulla. Ut cursus metus a dolor vestibulum, in viverra orci scelerisque. Vivamus sed congue lacus. Sed bibendum vitae ipsum ac facilisis. Mauris sit amet orci a arcu pretium consequat non vel ligula. Mauris augue velit, pulvinar nec libero eu, eleme
</div>

<div style="text-align:justify; color:#000000; font:12px century gothic; padding:10px; border: 1px #000000 solid; width:377px; height:180px; overflow: auto; margin-top:404px; margin-left: 14px; float: left; ">
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed ut rutrum mi. Proin quis nulla lacinia, suscipit velit at, euismod nulla. Ut cursus metus a dolor vestibulum, in viverra orci scelerisque. Vivamus sed congue lacus. Sed bibendum vitae ipsum ac facilisis. Mauris sit amet orci a arcu pretium consequat non vel ligula. Mauris augue velit, pulvinar nec libero eu, eleme
</div>

</div>
</div>

</div>
</div>
BonnieScotland
  • Posted messages: 99
  • Karma: 10 points
UPDATE: I have discovered the <br> function and have fixed the problem! default smiley :d

Gotta love having nothing better to do with myself right now...
BonnieScotland
  • Posted messages: 99
  • Karma: 10 points
Does anyone have any pre-made profile layouts or would be willing to make one for me for trade? Thanks!
ShiloIsAwesome
  • Posted messages: 23
  • Karma: 10 points
How do I get a golden horse shoe?
ELodenP
  • Posted messages: 1
  • Karma: 10 points
Hey there! I'm currently trying to make layouts and was wondering how to do the scrolling blog-type layout (ones where you have to scroll to make the text boxes appear). If anybody could point me to a tutorial, that'd be great! Thank you! default smiley ^)
cuteypoo
  • Posted messages: 2,386
  • Karma: 10 points
I just started the game
bighotmomma82
  • Posted messages: 1
  • Karma: 10 points
  • Seniority: 2 days
Hi!
I just opened my EC and when I go to the “classic version” of the game I can easily access it. Is there a way to access it on the mobile version? I can’t seem to find it anywhere
slauzon
  • Posted messages: 2
  • Karma: 10 points
slauzon wrote:

Hi!
I just opened my EC and when I go to the “classic version” of the game I can easily access it. Is there a way to access it on the mobile version? I can’t seem to find it anywhere

I don't believe you can access your EC at all on mobile, someone will correct me if I'm wrong
dααé
  • Posted messages: 1,599
  • Karma: 10 points
Go to page: